Men’s Top Banana Competition: Wakeley On The Move, Wells Stays Close

Back to the dirt, the Top Banana Competition Crown was once again under the gun for the brave riders taking on the Boyne Marathon. 34.7 miles and 4,400 feet of climbing is enough to wreck the legs of nearly everyone, but Jorden Wakeley continued his winning ways and nabbed some important points heading into the late summer days.

For Wakeley, the race provided an excellent platform to flex his muscles. On a course he’s won on before and checked out again this season, he put the hammer down from the gun and won going away. The race wasn’t in doubt after just two laps, and the battle for second was by far the more intriguing story line. Mike Simonson’s mechanical was an undeserved challenge, but Mike, in his admirable style, made a repair and went on to finish the race. Chapeau, Mike.

Earl Hillaker wore the #1 number plate and took a strong second place about 23 minutes behind Wakeley. Aaron McCreedy kept third and a podium spot by coming in 2 minutes back on Earl, with Chad Wells 45th a further 4 minutes a drift. For Wells, the 4th place was an important points grab that keeps North Country Cycle Sport in the hunt for the Top Banana overall heading into a busy fall schedule. Here’s the points run down on the day:

20     Jorden Wakeley     Einstein Cycles
19     Earl Hillaker            Founders/Alger Racing
18     Aaron McCreedy    Racing Greyhounds
17     Chad Wells              North Country Cycle Sport
16     Mike Simonson      RBS/CPA Crossing

With big points nabbed up, here’s the new overall:

Mike Anderson at 57 points
Jorden Wakeley at 54 points
Chad Wells at 44 points
John Cowan at 40 points
Dan Korienek at 25 points
Brian Matter at 19 points
Earl Hillaker at 19 points
Nate Williams at 18 points
Aaron McCreedy at 18
Ty Schmidt at 17 points
Shawn Adams at 17 points
Mike Simonson at 16 points
Ron Sanborn at 16 points
Steve Broglio at 16 points
Sven Baumann at 15 points
Mark Spore at 15 points
TJ Jenema at 15 points
Alexey Vermeullen at 14 points
Matthew DeGiacomo at 13 points
Jordan Diekema at 11


Jorden Wakeley is creeping up the overall with ambitions for the title. Mike Anderson will need to defend his lead at either the Cherry-Roubaix and get points there, or look to race the Battle at the ‘Burg on September 8th. John Cowan, Chad Wells and Earl Hillaker should all make up ground at the ‘Burg, and perhaps only Ty Schmidt, Alexey Vermeullen and Alex Vanias will register points at the final road race points stop at the Roubaix August 12.

Check back tomorrow for the Women’s results!









Leave a Reply

A Website.

%d bloggers like this: