2012 kolo t.c. Year End Awards: Cyclocrosser of the Year

Cyclocross is a rather big deal, and it’s becoming a hot ticket in Michigan. Here’s a nod to the folks who make it happen. 

Over the past two seasons, cyclocross has steadily gained a following in the Mitten. From the successes of KissCross in Grand Rapids and Cross the Bay CX in its first year in Northern Michigan, people have jumped on board to one of the most exciting and fastest growing segments of the sport. And why not? It’s a freakin’ blast.

kolo t.c. is excited to hand down a ridiculous amount of propers to two wonderful human beings who not only are great ambassadors of ‘cross but have had outstanding seasons.

Aaron Beebe, East Hills Velo. He may not have won the Elite state championships, but Aaron Beebe had the best season of any male cyclist in ‘cross. Why? He barely touched a bike in the past year. Beebe was a Division II superhero at Grand Valley State for four years with Olympic ambitions this past spring. He went to the trial and beat the best swimmers in the world, coming up just a touch short of representing these United States in London. Only then did he take a well-deserved break, eventually picking up his trusty ‘cross bike and getting back into the competitive spirit. His outstanding results at KissCross and an outstanding third place up at Cross the Bay were a revelation. He was neck and neck week in and week out against the likes of Tom Burke, Sven Baumann and the best in the business, after not touching a bike more than a handful of time in the past four years.

Honorable Mentions: John Leach-Einstein Racing, Chad Wells-NCCS, Brian Hancock, Michael Seaman.

Kim Thomas, Fusion/Livestrong. Kim is the unquestioned pioneer for women in ‘cross around the state. No woman has done as much to recruit, encourage and support women in the sport, and her efforts need to be recognized. Down in Grand Rapids, she’s brought a lot of much needed attention to women in cycling as a whole, plus she’s a pretty darn solid crosser when she’s out racing, too. Kim has big plans for ‘cross, and her recent cajoling of 2012 State Road Race Champion Mackenzie Woodring to jump over things is a monumental and terrifying signal for things to come in 2013.

Honorable Mentions: Amanda Schaap, Tina Dominic-NCCS, Kim Chapman-Algoma Bicycle Co.

Well done, Aaron and Kim. More Year End Awards coming up, including the big prize, Michigan Cyclist of the Year!

One response to “2012 kolo t.c. Year End Awards: Cyclocrosser of the Year”

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

%d bloggers like this: