Speed of Light Giro Competition: Finale and Food


The final stage of the 2014 Giro Competition is tomorrow, and while the attention will mostly be on stage honors, there’s a point of pride left to the pink jersey. 

It’ll be a shuffle for the points and mountains jerseys on Stage Four, but race leader Ty Schmidt will enter Thursday’s finale with ambitions of stamping his authority on his another Grand Tour victory. The Tour winner can add the Giro to his palmares, but he’ll do so without having won a stage unless he can make a big move tomorrow night. The overall is still the focus, but he wouldn’t mind a high placing to cap off an impressive month of May.

Stage honors will almost certainly provide the entertainment, with M-22’s duo of Sean Kickbush and Keegan Myers looking to repeat last week’s 1-2 finish. They won’t have it all their way, with the likely return of Jason Lowetz, as well as a plethora of other contenders that include Shawn and Scott Luca, Eli Brown and Tim Pulliam. That KEEN contingent is looking to put some gentlemen on the podium to keep the festivities rolling post-ride, as they host their team BBQ in the Vasa 25km Parking lot immediately after the ride is finished.

The shin-dig will include the podium ceremony, with an all-new Speed of Light trophy being unveiled thanks to the gracious Eric Grassa. The GC, KOM and Sprint winners will be applauded, as well as the Best Old Rider winner, which, if he finishes, will be Rob Goepfrich. That and the GC looked locked up, by the other two competitions are separated by less than four points each. It’ll be a showdown on the Vasa CC Climb and Power Section to see who takes home the hardware.

The Giro finale leaves Einstein Cycles at 6.30pm, and rolls through the Vasa 25km lot at 6.45pm. It is the first event in the year-long WorldTour series.

A WordPress.com Website.

%d bloggers like this: