Michigan Riders Impress At Iceman Cometh

An outstanding weekend for local racers makes the Iceman Cometh a huge success. 

This year more than ever, Michigan racers went into the Iceman with high ambitions for the biggest one day race in the United States. Packed with talent even against two of the toughest fields ever thrown together in the state, riders from around the Mitten rallied to their best weekend ever. Here’s a brief look at the top Michigan finishers and some outstanding Michigan rides in the Pro classes.

On the Men’s side, Mike Anderson and Jorden Wakeley renewed their year-long rivalry in style, with a reigning national champion and 3 time Iceman champion in the crossfire. Even as Sam Schultz made the decisive move, towing along Brian Matter and Geoff Kabush, Mike Anderson had enough hold on to fourth place. Matter, though originally from Michigan and now carrying a Wisconsin license, was always the local hero in past years in the absence of more local contenders. But now, with the likes of Anderson and Wakeley, Michigan has a whole host of serious threats even against seasoned professionals from around the country.

1 Sam Schultz              316 Missoula        MT Subaru - Trek        1:37:43 
    2 Geoff Kabush             347 Courtenay       BC Scott 3 Rox Racing   1:37:44 
    3 Brian Matter             299 Sheboygan       WI Gear Grinder         1:37:45 
    4 Michael Anderson         242 Alpena          MI                      1:37:48 
    5 Ben Sonntag              319 Durango         CO                      1:37:50 
    6 Derek Zandstra           346 Trenton        ONT Scott 3 Rox Racing   1:37:56 
    7 Jorden Wakeley           334 Grayling        MI Einstein Racing      1:38:03 
    8 Cole House               345 Oneida          WI 616 Fabrication      1:38:24 
    9 Troy Wells               336 Durango         CO Team Clif Bar        1:38:52 
   10 Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski   282 Boulder         CO Subaru - Trek        1:40:01 
   19 Tyler Gauthier           273 Ishpeming       MI Culvers Racing P/b M 1:41:03 
   20 Brad Cole                350 Lansing         MI Niner                1:41:11  
   23 Alex Vanias              331 Leroy           MI Bissell Pro Cycling  1:43:06 
   24 Christian Tanguy         326 Rochester       MI Team Cf              1:43:27 
   26 Scott Hoffner            280 Milford         MI Hometown Racing      1:43:58 
   27 Chris Fisher             269 Maple City      MI Einstein Racing      1:44:06 
   30 John Cowan               260 Petoskey        MI                      1:44:26 
   31 Ray Nelson               356 Woodstock       IL Tread Head Cycling   1:44:38 
   33 Nathaniel Williams       338 East Grand Rap  MI                      1:45:08 
   34 Justin Piontek           308 Wabeno          WI                      1:45:15 
   35 Matt Craig               261 Pinckney        MI                      1:45:16 
   36 Dan Korienek             290 Grandville      MI Leadout Racing       1:45:25 
   38 John Risk                314 Birmingham      MI Wolverine Sports Clu 1:46:05 
   39 Derek Graham             275 Cedar           MI Bissell-Abg-Nuvo/ind 1:46:28 
   40 Ronald Catlin            257 Ray Township    MI Rbs Cycling          1:46:52 
   41 Mac Brennan              253 East Jordan     MI Bissell Pro Cycling  1:47:05 
   42 Shawn Davison            263 Grand Rapids    MI Farm Team Racing     1:47:14 
   43 Donald Cumming           262 Waterford       MI Wolverine Sports Clu 1:47:27 
   44 Greg Kuhn                293 Sterling Heigh  MI Rbs Cycling          1:47:46 
   47 Daniel Klein             354 Berkley         MI Lathrup Industries/g 1:48:34 
   48 Ryan Kennedy             289 Traverse City   MI                      1:48:38 
   49 Jason Buccellato         254 Lake Orion      MI Klm/coldstone        1:49:54  
   51 Aaron McCready           300 Novi            MI Cycle To Fitness Rac 1:50:00

The Women’s race was also a huge step in the right direction. Just one year after teammate Johanna Schmidt vaulted to an astounding 6th place, Mackenzie Woodring continued her dream season by taking 4th place in one of the best women’s fields ever assembled in Iceman history. Riding in the elite lead group of Heather Irmiger, Emily Batty and Georgia Gould for the whole race before missing out on the podium by less than a second. The reigning state road race champion and recent Peak2Peak winner was joined in the top ten by Michiganders Kati Krikke and Johanna Schmidt, with Lauri Brockmiller just missing out in 11th. Woodring’s 4th place is a great way to cap a season already well worth remembering.

With thoughts already drifting toward 2013, it’ll be an interesting transition for local fans moving from hoping for a top ten to wanting a victory. With Georgia Gould already saying she’ll be back and TREK’s commitment to the race, 2013 will have a powerful line-up, perhaps even stronger in a non-Olympic year. Look for the return of Jeremiah Bishop, who was off doing La Ruta this weekend, and possibly Todd Wells as well.

   1 Georgia Gould          Ft. Collins     CO LUNA PRO TEAM        1:53:12 
    2 Emily Batty            Brooklin        ON SUBARU - TREK        1:55:03 
    3 Heather Irmiger        Boulder         CO SUBARU - TREK        1:55:09 
    4 Mackenzie Woodring     Belmont         MI U.S. NATIONAL PARALY 1:55:09 
    5 Chloe Woodruff         Tucson          AZ CRANKBROTHER RACE CL 1:58:15 
    6 Erica Tingey           Salt Lake City  UT ROCKY MOUNTAIN/ KUHL 1:58:18 
    7 Cooper Dendel          Marquette       MI                      2:02:41 
    8 Abby Strigel           Madison         WI SUBARU TREK TEAM     2:03:14 
    9 Kathryn Krikke         Rockford        MI                      2:04:39 
   10 Johanna Schmidt        Traverse City   MI EINSTEIN             2:07:53 
   11 Lauri Brockmiller      Traverse City   MI                      2:08:13 
   12 Christy Keely          Greenville      SC TEAM KENDA           2:08:26 
   14 Amy Stauffer           Lowell          MI PH                   2:08:48 
   15 Amanda Ryan            Farmington Hil  MI EINSTEIN RACING      2:08:54 
   16 Susan Vigland          Traverse City   MI                      2:10:15 
   17 Erin Vicary            Walled Lake     MI QUIRING CYCLES       2:11:04 
   20 Bonnie Van Volkinburg  Ada             MI FARM TEAM RACING/ 61 2:14:09 
   22 Amanda Schaap          Jenison         MI TEAM KENDA PLB GEANG 2:17:32 

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

%d bloggers like this: