2013 Men’s Top Banana Competition: Vanias Back In The Race

The 2013 Top Banana Competition p/b Carter’s Compost is back to the dirt, and BISSELL’s squad is crowded the top of the rankings. 

After a bit of a respite after June’s triple header, the Competition returns with a B race at Boyne. The brutally hard course in 90 degree heat was no easy task for any rider, and for BISSELL’s Alex Vanias, a tough return to the dirt heading into a busy fall with plenty of opportunities to take points. His team is flooding the top of the charts at the moment, and Vanias entered Boyne with a chance to put himself back up near the head of things as well.

The Lion of Leroy left the race with a healthy margin over Scott Quiring. The pair haven’t faced off since the fat bike season, though if both are racing in Elite categories, they’ll be meeting again throughout the rest of the season. For Vanias, the win gets him 10 points, while Quiring won’t scoff at 9 for second. Jeremy Karel took third, with Jay Click fourth. Brockmiller Elite Endurance athlete Dave Silvers took fifth, with Einstein Racing’s Nate St. Onge just a few minutes back in sixth.

Einstein Racing’s Ryan Cross is still comfortably in the lead, though he’ll need an off-road start to defend as the mountain bike and cyclocross races return to prominence as the fall rolls in. Of the contenders thus far, Jorden Wakeley, Mike Anderson, Alex Vanias and newly-crowned road race state champion Derek Graham look perfectly positioned for a showdown this fall.

Here are the standings after Boyne Marathon:

Ryan Cross 55
Alexey Vermuelen 41
Mike Anderson 40
Adam York 39
Alex Vanias 36
Jordan Diekema 36
Rudy Peterson 33
Scott Hoffner 33
Christopher Gottwald 32
Jorden Wakeley 32
Alexey Vermuelen 30
Scott Quiring 28
Cruise Bogedin 27
Sven Baumann 26
Matt Acker 25
Derek Graham 25
Mac Brennan 22
Kirk Albers 20
Nathan Williams 19
Steve Broglio 19
Matt Light 19
John Cowan 19
Robert Smallman 18
Cruise Bogedin 18
Daniel Yankus 18
Paul Martin 16
Ryan Kennedy 16
Ron Sanborn 16
Kevin DePasse 16
Justin Lindine 15
Peter Beels 15
Tom Linck 15
Martin Vecchio 14
Randy Rodd 13
Cam Timmer 13
Andrew Florian 12
David Nies 12
Chris Kushman 12
Robert Foshag 12
Chad Wells 11
Matt Bole 10
Ron Catlin 10
Jason Young 10
Tom Burke 9
Mitchell DeYoung 9
Hogan Sills 9
Cory Stange 9
Jeremy Karel 8
Sean Piper 8
Brian Kozeliski 8
Brent Krmotich 8
Nate St. Onge 7
Jay Click 7
Dan Lam 7
Jason Hess 7
Dustin Morici 7
David Silvers 6
Geoff Kuyper 6
David Williams 6
Dan Korienek 6
Matt Silvia 6
Mike Simonson 6
Chris Fisher 5
Shawn Adams 5
Craig Gietzen 5
Dan Korienek 4
Brent Goetz 3
John Leach 3
Shawn Davison 3
Nate Versluis 3
Jason Lowetz 3
Anthony Prentice 2
Mickey Humpula 2
Dan Lam 2
Thomas Beebe 2
Dan Wilson 1
Mike Jones 1
Greg Kuhn 1
Andy Holly 1
Cody Sovis 1

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.