2013 Men’s Top Banana Competition p/b Carter’s Compost: Hoffner, Vanias Make It A Two Man Race

Scott Hoffner has moved into the Top Banana Competition lead with just three races left on the Programme. 

Alex Vanias entered the day as the heir apparent to take the Competition lead at the Battle at the Burg, but even with an amazing second place finish on the day, the BISSELL rider is one point shy of the overall. A great ride from Priority Health’s Scott Hoffner put the Man in Green into the lead with 61 points, one in front of Alex Vanias and clear of third by six.

Ryan Cross is still that third placed rider after leading the Competition for all of the summer and much of the spring. The Michigan points winner migrated to the state south of Wyoming just two weeks back, making it impossible to defend a title he certainly deserved after an amazing season for Einstein Racing.

Now, it’s a showdown between Vanias and Hoffner, with other riders needing a lot of help and a lot of points in the last three races of the season. Adam York is still in touch, but he’d have to make two mountain bike starts to contest the final standings, something that isn’t likely. It’s a little ways back to Vanias’ teammate Derek Graham with 44 points, but he will certainly feature in both the Peak2Peak and Iceman races on October 19 and November 2.

Worth 15 points to the winner, Cross the Bay’s Pumpkin Pie SuperPrestige on December 1 could well decide the overall, especially if Hoffner can start both Peak2Peak and Iceman. If he does, he will have a showdown with Vanias at the Grand Traverse Civic Center in frigid, most likely snowing conditions to put a big punctuation mark on the closest Competition yet.

Here are the full standings after Battle at the Burg:

Scott Hoffner 61
Alex Vanias 60
Ryan Cross 55
Adam York 52
Derek Graham 44
Alexey Vermuelen 41
Sven Baumann 40
Mike Anderson 40
Jordan Diekema 36
Daniel Yankus 34
Rudy Peterson 33
Christopher Gottwald 32
Jorden Wakeley 32
Scott Quiring 28
Cruise Bogedin 27
Mike Simonson 26
Matt Acker 25
Mac Brennan 22
Kyle Stange 22
Shawn Davison 21
Kirk Albers 20
Nathan Williams 19
Steve Broglio 19
Matt Light 19
John Cowan 19
Robert Smallman 18
Cruise Bogedin 18
Paul Martin 16
Ryan Kennedy 16
Ron Sanborn 16
Kevin DePasse 16
Chris Vitton 15
Ryan Bolin 15
Brad White 15
Tom Burke 15
Justin Lindine 15
Peter Beels 15
Tom Linck 15
Martin Vecchio 14
Aaron McCreedy 14
John Leach 13
Randy Rodd 13
Cam Timmer 13
Jeff Weinart 12
Michael Manning 12
Andrew Florian 12
David Nies 12
Chris Kushman 12
Robert Foshag 12
Earl Hillaker 11
Michael Mills 11
Chad Wells 11
Cody Sovis 11
Jeff Jacobi 10
John Card 10
Matt Bole 10
Ron Catlin 10
Jason Young 10
Shawn Davison 9
Bryan Underwood 9
Kris Sands 9
Mitchell DeYoung 9
Hogan Sills 9
Cory Stange 9
Dan Yankus 8
Bryan Ellenbaas 8
Jeremy Karel 8
Sean Piper 8
Brian Kozeliski 8
Brent Krmotich 8
Adam McIntyre 7
Matthew Wehrmeyer 7
Nate St. Onge 7
Jay Click 7
Dan Lam 7
Jason Hess 7
Dustin Morici 7
Scott Kuhns 6
David Silvers 6
Geoff Kuyper 6
David Williams 6
Dan Korienek 6
Matt Silvia 6
Dan Korienek 6
Kevin Daum 5
Christian Byar 5
Chris Fisher 5
Randy Zeeman 5
Shawn Adams 5
Craig Gietzen 5
Tony Talentino 4
Greg Kuhn 4
Jeff Van Dermark 3
Brent Goetz 3
Nate Versluis 3
Jason Lowetz 3
Clint Haley 2
Anthony Prentice 2
Mickey Humpula 2
Dan Lam 2
Thomas Beebe 2
Paul Borden 1
Dan Wilson 1
Mike Jones 1
Andy Holly 1

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

%d bloggers like this: