2013 Men’s Top Banana Competition p/b Carter’s Compost: Hoffner and Vanias Duel

Peak2Peak ticks off the third from final race of the Competition, and it’s a two man show heading into the Iceman Cometh. 

The new points structure for 2013 means the margins will be small in the final two races, and if Scott Hoffner and Alex Vanias are this tight after Peak2Peak, it might all boil down to December 1. The pair entered Saturday’s race in Thompsonville separated by just a few points, and they ended the race separated by just a few seconds. The 616 Fabrications squad laid down the gauntlet and rode away, but Vanias and Hoffner battled behind for the prize that’s taken eight full months to take shape.

Vanias sits just two points down to Hoffner with two weeks to go until the Iceman. It’s a relatively safe gap back to Vanias’ BISSELL teammate Derek Graham, though the pair should be able to give their team the gift of repeating last year’s feat of having two riders on the Competition podium.

Further back, Jorden Wakeley and Mike Simson made big jumps up the charts though shouldn’t be able to challenge for the podium bar disaster for Graham in the Iceman.

The Iceman will be run as a regular A race worth 20 points to the winner. With so many fast out-of-staters, the gaps could be big between our top five riders on points. Both Hoffner and Vanias are registered and have big ambitions, with the 616 contingent should also play a big factor in the race.

Top Banana Competition Standings After Peak2Peak:

Scott Hoffner 73
Alex Vanias 71
Derek Graham 55
Ryan Cross 55
Adam York 52
Jorden Wakeley 45
Alexey Vermuelen 41
Mike Simonson 40
Sven Baumann 40
Mike Anderson 40
Jordan Diekema 36
Daniel Yankus 34
Rudy Peterson 33
Christopher Gottwald 32
Scott Quiring 28
Cruise Bogedin 27
Matt Acker 25
Mac Brennan 22
Kyle Stange 22
Shawn Davison 21
Kirk Albers 20
Ron Catlin 20
Ryan Kennedy 19
Nathan Williams 19
Steve Broglio 19
Matt Light 19
John Cowan 19
Robert Smallman 18
Cruise Bogedin 18
Chris Vitton 17
Paul Martin 16
Ron Sanborn 16
Kevin DePasse 16
Cole House 15
Ryan Bolin 15
Brad White 15
Tom Burke 15
Justin Lindine 15
Peter Beels 15
Tom Linck 15
John Card 14
Dan Korienek 14
Martin Vecchio 14
Aaron McCreedy 14
John Leach 13
Randy Rodd 13
Cam Timmer 13
Jeff Weinart 12
Michael Manning 12
Andrew Florian 12
David Nies 12
Chris Kushman 12
Robert Foshag 12
Earl Hillaker 11
Michael Mills 11
Chad Wells 11
Cody Sovis 11
Jeff Jacobi 10
Matt Bole 10
Jason Young 10
Jason Lowetz 10
Geoff Kuyper 9
Shawn Davison 9
Bryan Underwood 9
Kris Sands 9
Mitchell DeYoung 9
Hogan Sills 9
Cory Stange 9
Dan Yankus 8
Bryan Ellenbaas 8
Jeremy Karel 8
Sean Piper 8
Brian Kozeliski 8
Brent Krmotich 8
Adam McIntyre 7
Matthew Wehrmeyer 7
Nate St. Onge 7
Jay Click 7
Dan Lam 7
Jason Hess 7
Dustin Morici 7
Robert Neidlinder 6
Scott Kuhns 6
David Silvers 6
David Williams 6
Matt Silvia 6
Kevin Daum 5
Jimmie Colflesh 5
Christian Byar 5
Chris Fisher 5
Randy Zeeman 5
Shawn Adams 5
Craig Gietzen 5
Tony Talentino 4
Greg Kuhn 4
Jeff Van Dermark 3
Brent Goetz 3
Nate Versluis 3
Clint Haley 2
Anthony Prentice 2
Mickey Humpula 2
Dan Lam 2
Thomas Beebe 2
Paul Borden 1
Dan Wilson 1
Mike Jones 1
Andy Holly 1
Kelly Sugg 1

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

%d bloggers like this: